Note: The quotes are real, but out of respect to the people and there families privacy, and possibly safety, I will not say who they are and what group the quotes came from.

So in one of the poly/plyg groups I am in on Facebook it was brought out that “The number one reason that polygamy SHOULD be legalized, Hold men and families LEGALLY accountable. Would so many would be ready to jump in a marriage if they realized if things go south the departing spouse can “divorce” them and get compensated for their time and effort. To many times I see a woman put out when things go sour because the husband isn’t legally married so therefor don’t have to worry about post marriageable responsibilities.” Which I definitely agree with (mostly).

There was also the differing opinion of “Just a thought….being #2 and not legally married to my husband….In my opinion…I think no one is entitled to what another person’s makes….yes being a housewife is a respectable job. But if you cannot up hold to her commitment (either party) then why should u be awarded a percentage of your spouse’s income….if you decide to no longer be married…whether it be legally or not then you have to make you own life and support yourself….yes the other should help support the children if they are not with u but its like unemployment if u quit a job then they won’t pay u anything but if they lay u off then u are entitle to something in the meantime while u find another job….I think that is how it should be if a marriage comes to an end!”.  I agree with this view point as well.

But we still have to ask ourselves what should constitute compensation for time and how much?

When/why should you be compensated?- I believe that a woman should be compensated for her time and effort in the plural marriage after it has been determined that it will not work. If it was originally her idea/decision with no cause for her spouse and her sisterwife/ves because she doesn’t want to be with them or Plyg isn’t for her then I don’t think the (ex)husband is required to compensate her for time, ect unless they BOTH mutually agree to it (Though it would be nice dude!!! You did marry her, right, and promised to take care of her; so helping her till she get herself together isn’t that bad). In my opinion.

How much?-  Now I’m not saying that she should get 50% of everything because that is outrages when you have other wives and children to care for. I think that until it is made legal it should discussed with the group of consenting adults before the marriage ceremony and plans begin to make an agreement for a very basic compensation that can later be adjusted if needed. If we do go poly I am adamant that my fiancé (husband at that point of course) will take care of the woman’s/en’s Basic needs till she gets on her feet and that of any resulting children.  Basic needs constitute Shelter, food and clothing. Anything else would have to be discussed.

Now this is only how I feel it should work while plyg is technically not legal, but hopefully some of these ideas will be taken into consideration when it is made legal.  I’m very optimistic. (Why is it not legal, when man has no right to make laws regarding things like this?)

